I’m really starting to hate the internet…

It’s been a fairly boring, banal day for me. I’ve gotten a few things off my plate but not quite enough for my own liking. 

I wasn’t really going to post today because I have nothing much to share – until I stumbled onto this little “nugget” of outrage:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/feb/06/texas-teenager-affluenza-escapes-jail-second-time

I’m not sure which I find more offensive: the fact that a teen who’s been drinking and driving – in itself violating more than just one law, obviously – and whose actions killed 4 people basically walked away with a slap on the wrist; or that the defense was how it’s not his fault, it’s because he’s suffering from “affluenza”. The fact that people who have a lot of money (or who grow up with a lot of money) think they’re above the law is hardly news-worthy in and of itself – but leave it to a judge in Texas to render such a grossly unjust and entirely idiotic verdict. Honestly, I don’t even understand how this line of argument was even allowed as a defense. I’m so sorry that you’re so filthy rich that, apparently, you don’t think you should be subject to the same laws as everyone else – but you killed 4 people. As far as I’m concerned, that kid should be thrown in jail – because I really don’t think he’s going to feel any remorse or learn anything of value when “his lawyers recommended his parents pay for him to seek therapy at a $450,000-a-year rehabilitation facility in California”. 

I think the best “therapy” for this ridiculous notion of the “stress” caused by excessive consumption is to prevent said party from being further “subjected” to these perceived stresses. Let that little $hit go work off some penance in a gulag somewhere. 

UNREAL.

7 thoughts on “I’m really starting to hate the internet…

  1. And also… really want to hate the internet? Read the comments section of ANY article – it could be on underwater basketweaving and some jerk will find a way to make it offensive.

      • So true. Sometimes I just feel like throwing out all the electronic equipment in our house. It’s not enough that the tv keeps bombarding me with Fertile Myrtle ads and crap??? And the disparity in income that has always bothered me now being used as a DEFENSE for reckless behavior is just too much.

      • Don’t even get me started. I mean, when someone who has two or more children whines about supposedly struggling with infertility, I seriously just want to punch them. Or put toothpicks in my eyeballs.

Comments are closed.